Residence Life Advisor (RA, HA, FA) Hiring FAQ

Residence Life Advisor (RLA) Selection Timeline for  2022-2023  School Year 


October 4, 2021 – December 1, 2021: Interest Sessions 

  • Monday Oct 4: Union 332 - 4:30 PM 
  • Tuesday Oct 5: Bruce Hall - 3:00 PM  
  • Wednesday Oct 6: Rawlins Hall - 7:00 PM 
  • Tuesday Oct 12: Union 382 - 1:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Oct 13: West Hall - 10:00 AM 
  • Thursday Oct 14: Rawlins Hall - 5:00 PM 
  • Monday Oct 18: West Hall - 1:00 PM  
  • Tuesday Oct 19: Union 382 - 7:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Oct 20: Crumley Hall - 11:00 AM 
  • Tuesday Oct 26: Victory Hall - 3:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Oct 27: Union 332 - 10:00 AM 
  • Thursday Oct 28: Honors Hall - 6:00 PM 
  • Monday Nov 1 - 6:00 PM 
  • Tuesday Nov 2 - 1:30 PM 
  • Wednesday Nov 3 - 11:00 AM 
  • Tuesday Nov 9 - 4:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Nov 10 - 10:00 AM 
  • Thursday Nov 11 - 4:00 PM 
  • Monday Nov 15 - 9:00 PM 
  • Tuesday Nov 16 - 4:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Nov 17 - 11:00 AM 
  • Monday Nov 22 - 7:00 PM 
  • Tuesday Nov 23 - 2:00 PM 
  • Monday Nov 29 - 11:00 AM 
  • Tuesday Nov 30 - 9:00 PM 
  • Wednesday Dec 1 - 10:00 AM 

December 3, 2021 at 12 PM: RLA Application Open 

December 17, 2021 at 12 PM: RLA Application Deadline  

February 25, 2021: RLA Notification Day 

March 11, 2022 at 10 AM to 12 PM: Orientation and Meet & Greet  


RLA Application FAQ


How do I apply?

To complete a RLA application (for Resident Assistant, Housing Ambassador, or Facility Assistant positions) for the 2022-2023 school year selection process you must attend one informational session and complete the application by December 17, 2021 

back to top

What do I need to apply?

A complete application includes completing the entire online RLA Application on this website 

back to top

What happens after I apply?

After you turn in your completed application, the RLA Selection committee  will review your application to make sure you are qualified and have all the necessary paperwork before you  continue to the selection process. You will be notified via email if you pass the selection process. 

back to top

How many positions are being filled?

The number of open RLA positions varies by year. 

back to top

What are the benefits of being a RLA?

Room Provided-Valued at an average of $6,185 (9 month academic year), Private as available, and roommate expected, minimum of 2 weeks but could be longer. 
Meal plan provided valued at $4,016 7-day value plan including $400 Flex dollars. 
Receive a stipend of $300 per month with the opportunity to work desk shifts as needed for up to 10 hours a week at an hourly rate ($9/hr)

back to top

I didn't get hired for a position. Is there still a chance someone will call me?

Yes, there is a possibility you can still be offered a position after the initial RLA recruitment process has ended. We will have an alternate list that we will pull from to fill open positions. You will notified if you are on the alternate list at the s AMe time positions offers go out. 

back to top

How do I best prepare to be hired?

Getting involved in your hall by participating in hall progr AMs, helping out your Hall Association, or taking opportunities to gain leadership experience and involvement in other c AMpus organizations can help prepare you for an RLA position.   

back to top

Will I have a roommate:

Yes you could start the year with a roommate   

back to top

My question was not answered.

If your question was not answered, please feel free to e-mail Talent Management at: housingrecruitment@unt.edu

back to top